Go back to home

Antique Horror - Creating some base code for a dialogue system

I'm working on a horror game with my SO as something of a new venture. We liked making games in the past, and we both want a bigger side project, so this works out well!


Antique Horror (placeholder) is a game about appraising antiques, that may be cursed. Join me on the journey of creating puzzles, coding systems, and figuring out all the small details in between.

  • A unity editor that contains dialogue information, such a file it's coming from, a button to compile, and then a list of dialogue lines.

Scriptable Objects

I've gone with SOs (scriptable objects) to hold each bit of dialogue. This should make having each "cutscene" in it's own thing easy enough, and swappable if needed. SOs also allow me to create a cool custom editor for showing off compiled pieces of dialogue.

These SOs can then be given to in-game controllers to update canvas elements.

  • A unity editor that contains dialogue information, such a file it's coming from, a button to compile, and then a list of dialogue lines in Korean..

Language

Something that I'd love to do for this game is provide multiple translations - which I've never done before. My assumption is that I can include translations within these SOs, and then select the current language based on an index.

Something I ran into was the inability to serialize and save a dictionary. So instead of having "en":"dialogue" key pairs, they're just sitting in an array. This might cause issues down the line with the looseness, but having a baseline system in is probably better than spending weeks on something that might not fit the needs we have.

  • A dialogue Test